Gateshead Harriers & Athletics Club Committee Members

Our club Committee are volunteers elected annually at our AGM in the Autumn. We are always looking for fresh ideas and more volunteers to help run the club behind the scenes. If you would like to contribute or help out in any way then please do get in touch.

Brendan Foster

Brendan Foster is Gateshead Harriers President. Bronze medallist at the 1976 Olympics Games in Montreal over 10,000m. Brendan also competed in many team competitions as an athlete during the 1970’s and 80’s.
In my young days I was a very useful half-miler, yes pre-decimal. I loved competition, even cross-country, most of my friends thought I was slightly mad. Now many years later I find myself Chairman of Gateshead Harriers and AC, and the passion for the sport is still there. Now, the demands on leisure time among young athletes is such that as a club we must make sure our athletes experience is exciting, satisfying and fun, after all we are competing with Nintendo and Sony as well as football, rugby and other passtimes. Competition is so important to the development of young athletes. It builds resilience, confidence and self-belief. Our coaches, who are all volunteers, understand this and will ensure each athlete will be the best they can be. The club is blessed with a hard-working and dedicated committee, with ideas to take the club forward we need your support to develop and sustain the club because together we are GATESHEAD HARRIERS.

Roland Peacock

Roland is our Vice-Chair & Coach Development Co-ordinator, working to set up a modern coaching structure within the club, recruiting new coaches and promoting development opportunities for existing coaches. He holds the new UKA coaching qualifications of ‘Athletics Coach and ‘Coach in Running Fitness’, and coaches senior and veteran men and women. As an athlete, Roland has completed a number of marathons and ultra marathons. His personal development objectives involve sprints and throws. Roland holds a PhD in applied psychology and is a project manager within the NHS.

Edwin James

Edwin James is our Treasurer.

Iona Sweeney

Iona works as a legal secretary and lives in Gateshead. She started volunteering with the Club at the start of 2014 as an athletics official and is now starting her second term as the Club Secretary. She carries out a wide range of administrative tasks for the Club and supports the Treasurer in his role. She can be contacted via email and is available in the Club office on a Tuesday evening.

Tony Gardner

Welfare Officer / Vice President
Tony Gardner is the club’s Lifetime Vice-President and our Welfare Officer and long term club member. Former athlete and team manager.

Marc Elliott

Men's Captain / Membership Secretary
Marc Elliott is our Men’s Captain, Athlete Representative and Membership Secretary. His distance was 800m on track, but now focuses on road and XC. A club member since 1992, he has been on the committee for 13 years.

Lisa Atkinson

Women's Team Captain
Lisa Atkinson is the Women’s Team Captain, as well as acting Team Manager during the winter XC season. The role involves organising teams for relays, xc races and league races, and relaying information about the club to the senior women. She is the point of contact for all Gateshead Harriers ladies, as well as for any females looking to get more information or to train with them at the club.

Janice Kaufman

Events Co-Ordinator
Janice is a former chair of the club, as well as a Level 3 sprints, hurdles and jumps coach. She also organises the Tartan Games and the annual Presentation Evening. Janice regularly updates the club website and is the email point of contact for the club.

Steve Parr

Committee Member
Steve Parr is a former Chairman / Men’s Captain as well as coach of our 15-17 boys group.

Alex Giles

Committee Member
We are delighted to welcome Alex Giles to the Committee. He is Team manager for Throws across the club. He coaches every Monday, Tuesday and Thursday with all athletes from Under 11’s through to Under 20’s. He is a National level 3 coach and County Judge level 2 and he travels with the Harriers as the Senior Field Judge on all YDL and NEYDL fixtures. In his spare time he runs the Friends of High Borrans, a charity that raises monies to allow deprived children residential visits to the Lake District, and is a school Governor.

Chris Parr

Committee Member / Race Director
Chris Parr is a former GB Junior Athlete over 1500m. As well as track, Chris focuses on 5k and 10k on roads and is key member of our Men’s relay teams. Chris is Race Director for the ‘Quayside 5k’ and is administrator for the website.

Jason Stobbs

Committee Member
Jason Stobbs is a 5-10k athlete and is also a Sport’s Therapist.

John MacDonald

Committee Member
John has beena  committee member for several decades now and continues to coach a thriving group of senior and masters men and women. He is Team Manager for the Senior Northern League Track & Field Teams.

Angela Gilmour

Committee Member
Angela is a former Olympian, competing in the 4x400m relay at the Seoul Olympics in 1988. She currently Team Manages for the summer Track and Field Teams.

Joan Smith

Committee Member
Joan Smith is a Level 3 track judge and Level 1 endurance official. She travels as a track official to YDL, NEYDL and senior team fixtures. She also officiates at NEHL XC and schools XC events. She is a club volunteer and can be contacted most Thursday evenings in the Harriers Office.

Steve Campion

Committee Member
Steve is a Team Manager for the NEYDL and is Event Manager at the Quayside 5k.

Contact The Club Committee